Poetic Power

A Creative Communication blog

Featured Student Writer: Joanne Wang

on March 24, 2016

unnamed (26)Joanne Wang was an 8th grader attending Community Middle School in New Jersey when her poem, “Bring Me” was selected as a Top Ten Winner in our Spring 2015 national poetry contest. She is now in the 9th grade at High School North. We asked Joanne to share what inspired her winning poem and her plans for the future.

“I was shocked and ecstatic to learn I had made it into the Top 10.” Joanne explained, “This contest was actually the first poetry contest I have ever entered, thanks to the support of my many amazing English teachers I had the pleasure to learn from.

“It always interested me how people would talk about life in the most crude ways, as though it had no meaning. But as I sat there pondering, I realized I had no right to think that, as I, myself, did not know the meaning of life. I decided in my last moments, I would like memories and miracles to flood in my mind and bring me the meaning of life before I passed. Then it had me thinking, what about when we encounter times in life where there’s no light at the end of the tunnel, or no solution to the problems suffocating us? We all need a miracle to bring us comfort, thus began the creation of this poem. I had actually written ‘Bring Me‘ in a notebook I had received as a present in the beginning of 8th grade. As I went through the book once more in the spring of 8th grade, I stumbled across it and decided to revise it.

“While I do have a strong passion about writing, I do not know what to expect in the future, or what I aspire to be. I simply want to make an impact for the greater good, or make a significant difference in a seemingly insignificant matter.”

To learn more about our national writing contests, visit www.poeticpower.com.

Leave a Reply

