Poetic Power

A Creative Communication blog

Featured Student Writer: Amandi Perera

on August 22, 2016

Amandi PereraWhen I saw the envelope saying Spring 2016 Top Ten winner on it, I was humbled and amazed. My grandmother was with me when I saw the letter and, as my poem “You Are My Grandfather” was clearly inspired by my grandfather, she was ecstatic to hear it got selected.

I have always loved reading, Jane Austen and the Bronte sisters being among my favourite authors. In high school, my teachers helped me realize that I love writing as well. I love the power of words and how their arrangement in varying ways can transform into describing an experience or feeling. I also love how each experience can be described in so many ways because of the endless number of perspectives one can have on just one experience. So after my grandfather’s passing, I met many people whose lives he had impacted in some way. Through this and my grandmother’s stories, I realized that my grandfather’s life was one that I could only hope to truly understand. He helped so many people and had the respect of so many, but he had never told me. This poem hopefully encompasses my realization of this and my newfound respect for him.

As for the future, I know that I want to follow in my grandfather’s footsteps and help others. I also know that, thanks to the encouragement of my English teachers, I will continue to write in the future and express myself through words.

Leave a Reply

