Poetic Power

A Creative Communication blog

Featured Student Writer: Emily Daza

on March 27, 2017

My name is Emily Daza and I was selected as one of the Top Ten Winners for the Summer 2016 essay contest.  The essay I submitted to Creative Communication in the seventh to ninth grade category was, “The Bicycle.” Emily Daza

I am fifteen years old and currently in tenth grade.  I attend Laurel Springs School, an accredited private online high school.  In the future, I would like to become either an epidemiologist or a medical librarian.

Some of my hobbies are reading, writing, volunteering at my local library, and constructing Lego Architecture kits.  My favorite author is Ray Bradbury and I absolutely love all of Edgar Allan Poe’s chilling poems as well as short stories.

My main inspiration for my essay was the memories I have of my grandfather.  Though he passed away when I was seven years old, I can still remember him teaching me to ride a bike and this in turn became my motivation to write, “The Bicycle.”  He was such an inspiring person and my grandfather always believed in my abilities.

When I received the letter from Creative Communication, I was filled with happiness and shock.  I am very appreciative of writing contests such as these because they are ways in which an individual’s writing can be shared with other people.

 

Leave a Reply

